top of page
Search

Jim the Skin - Cov Legend!

Local legend, 'Jim the Skin' (aka Paul Atkins), wrote us some words a while back...

Paul and Joe Atkins doing doubles on the Vert at Creation Skatepark in Birmingham (Photo credit: Rob Whiston)



My name is Paul Atkins, aka Jim the Skin and I have been skateboarding for the past 45 years, at

least 20 of those professionally. I also run Ride Skateboard & Bike Supplies alongside my brother

which is based in Holbrooks. Our shop has serviced the skateboard and cycle community for 22

years. There has never been more of a need for a decent sized skatepark in Coventry as there is

right now.


Skateboarding, BMX and scootering are currently experiencing a huge upward trajectory. Social

media has helped people access up to the minute videos and other media showing everyday

people enjoying their chosen niche, perfecting tricks or sharing the best skate spots; something

that was only previously available to see in magazines or specially shot videos. With the

introduction of skateboarding and BMX as disciplines for the Olympics, the public appetite for

both will only increase. There is already an upsurge in girls taking an interest in skateboarding

due to watching our Team GB hopeful Sky Brown who has shown that skateboarding is

accessible for all.


During the years that I have been skateboarding I have travelled all over the world to compete in

competitions, demos and also in search of good skateparks. A good skatepark will attract people

from all around the world. Just over five years ago, I visited Venice Beach skatepark. The thing

that instantly struck me was how passers by would stop and lean on the fence to watch the

skaters, sometimes for hours. Venice park has a brilliant and unique design which attracts not

only locals but skaters from further afield. A well designed skatepark would bring visitors and

new business to Coventry. It will not only help the community, it will help to sustain friendships

and give youngsters a positive focus. I still meet up and travel with friends that I met through

skateboarding over 30 years ago; I even met my wife through skateboarding.


I believe that if we can get funding for this project, we will be able to build an iconic park in

Coventry. It’s time that people looked at Coventry in a positive light and to give the people that

will use the park something to be proud of. Coventry is the perfect site for a project such as this

as we are situated pretty much in the centre of the UK.


I am very proud to be born and bred in Coventry. My Grandma, Edith Atkins, also from Coventry

was an amateur cyclist who broke many records; On the 12 July 1953 she covered 422 miles (679

km) in 24 hours, breaking the London to York; 12-hour, and London to Edinburgh records along

the way. Two weeks later she also broke Land's End to John o' Groats. My father, John Atkins, 13

times Cyclo Cross Champion still holds the record for the most Cyclo Cross National

Championship wins. Both my Grandma and my fathers bicycles are on display at Coventry’s

Transport Museum; I was lucky enough to take part in the initial opening celebrations and helped

to organise and take part in the BMX and skateboard demos. Coventry has a big history in BMX

and skateboarding which I believe is something to celebrate and grow for future generations.


I have attached some images of the shop boards that we have designed and sold over the years;

you can see by the graphics how serious we are about Coventry so lets do something BIG,

something unique and something that we can all be proud of.



11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page